Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2 year veteran curious about slings

Hello Everyone!

I am new to this wonderful site, and know that my questions will be answered with experience.

So to whom it may concern-

I have owned a B. Smithi and G. Aureostriata for almost two full years now. They have been great, but I am concerned about them.

My scenario: I recieved them by internet through a well known a trusted breeder. They came in med. vials and the breeder told me to house them in the vials for about six months or so. I however placed the B. smithi in a mini crix terrarium, and the G. Aureostriata in a med. terrarium, both of which i put potting soil in as substrate (which was a method i was told to use) and have been feeding each of them about 5 pinhead crix, twice a month at best. For water I have been spraying one corner of each housing until soaked, and have seen each sling "hover" the moist spot and "suck" moisture. I have also been keeping the housings in a 70-80 degree/55=% environment all year round. In 2 years I have only seen each sling molt 3-4 times.

My concerns: From all sources that i have been viewing more recently, i am obtaining that each sling should be molting once almost every 4-6 weeks. Now i know that molting is gender and species sensative, but nothing i have read so far seems to fit this situation.

My questions:

1. Could the housing (which is much larger than i know recommended) be hindering their growth process?

2. Should i be feeding them more often?

3. I now have a water bottle cap full of water for each of them. Is this a bad practice?

Any feedback would be much appreciated as I am 2 years into this, and love it, but seem to think there is something missing.
    Godbless you all
    Trev

Hi Trevor
    I have approx 220 slings and juvs of about 30 different species ....from 2-3mm upwards. I can only give you my experiences which may or may not differ from other peoples.